Heal me, body

I just want to start as always by saying that I am not a professional, these are just my personal opinions and experiences.  

Do you ever give your child a spoonful of sugar water and tell them its medicine so they'll stop being whiny? Because, same. My daughter is four, so she knows that I will give her medicine if she is truly feeling unwell. However, I usually know when its a pile of shit, and she is just whiny for no good reason. I take a spoon of sugar and add a few drops of hot water. I let the sugar dissolve and get all syrupy, then I give it to her. She believes I've given her the magic potion to cure all ailments. It honestly works. She is a completely different child after the fact. Its like she's my little test subject in a clinical trial or something, she's just getting the sugar pill instead of the actual medication. 

I'm a tad resistant when it comes to giving medication. I hold off until I can't get anything else to work before I give medicine. I'm not a crunchy mom or anything, I just don't want my body to be dependent on any medication. If I get a headache, I try to turn off my screen, and turn down lights, and hydrate as much as I can. With my kids I will give the sugar water placebo, offer warm milk and try to get a nap in before I give a medical remedy. (maybe that makes me a bad mom, but I'm all for trying alternatives, and seeing what works) Plus I think what started this, was that more then once the pharmacy has been completely sold out of any kid's cold/flu medicine, and I've had to just use what I had at home. 

I also don't believe in letting kids stay inside because they have a cold. Fresh air is so good for them, it would probably hurt them more to stay in. When I used to be employed at a daycare lots of parents would send a note for little Johnny to stay indoors because of a little cold. Our director would always assess the situation and 10/10 times the child would be sent outside as well. We didn't have enough staff to have someone stay inside with one kid.  

I feel like I've gone off on a tangent and really stepped onto the soap box. I clearly have some unresolved feelings in this area. I think the point I'm trying to make is that we don't have to shove drugs down ours, or our kids throats at the first sign of illness. I also want to mention that I do vaccinate, this isn't about that, but I feel its relevant and that people may assume that I don't. Sometimes a nap, and lots of water is all it takes, or a good dose of fresh air. I also tend to up our vitamin intake when were sick. Our bodies are amazing and resilient, let them do their job and lets take care of them, they are the only one we get. 

Comments

Popular Posts